Four Razorbacks Selected To Pre-Season All-SEC Team

Four members of the Arkansas football team have been selected to the 2010 SEC Coaches' Pre-Season All-SEC team, which was released by the league Tuesday.Quarterback Ryan Mallett and tight end D.J. Williams were both named to the first team while offensive lineman DeMarcus Love and linebacker Jerry Franklin were named to the second team.Mallett, a junior, became the first quarterback in school history to be named preseason first-team by either the league coaches or media and was recently named to the Davey O'Brien Quarterback Award watch list, placing him in contention for the award given to the nation's top collegiate quarterback.Mallett was named to the All-SEC second team last season after passing for a conference-leading 30 touchdown passes. He also led the league in passing yards (278.8) and total offense (276.5) per game.Williams, a senior from Little Rock, has 98 career receptions and 1,228 receiving yards as a tight end for the Hogs. He was a second-team All-SEC honoree by the league coaches each of the past two seasons and a first team AP selection in 2008.Love, a senior from Lancaster, Texas, started every game last season at offensive line for a unit that led the SEC in scoring at 36 points per game. He was recently named to the watch list for the Outland Trophy, presented annually to the nation's top lineman.Franklin, a junior from Marion, Arkansas, led Arkansas in tackles the past two seasons. He's recorded 171 career tackles, 8.5 tackles for loss, five interceptions, and four fumble recoveries.Arkansas begins the 2010 season September 4th against Tennessee Tech in Fayetteville.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off