Luper Named Best In The Summit League

Oral Roberts' Kevi Luper captured her third-straight Summit League Player of the Year award in a vote of the league's 10 head coaches, sports information directors and select media members which was announced on Thursday.Luper becomes The Summit League's first three-time Player of the Year award winner. Heading into the tournament, the junior guard is leading the league in both points (23.9) and steals (3.9) per game. Those numbers also rank her fourth and third, respectively, in the nation. She became the league's all-time leading scorer in two-plus seasons during a win over North Dakota State on Feb. 4, surpassing former Golden Eagle Krista Ragan's 2,105 point-mark. Luper currently has 2,233 career points entering the tournament. The Adair, Okla., native is also second all-time in league history for career field goals (796) and steals (376) and set a new record for career Player of the Week awards with 14. Luper ranks second in the league in both free throw percentage (.871) and minutes played (33.6) and is third in three-point field goal percentage (.388).The Summit League Tournament begins Saturday, March 3 at the Sioux Falls Arena in Sioux Falls, S.D., and will be televised on Midco Sports Network and Fox College Sports. Eight teams will vie for the NCAA automatic bid, which goes to the winner of the championship game on Tuesday, March 6 on ESPNU at 3 p.m. (CT).

2012 Summit League Women's Basketball Awards

FIRST TEAMDayon Hall-Jones, UMKC, G, Sr.Amber Hegge, South Dakota, F, Sr.Kevi Luper, Oral Roberts, G, Jr.Kerah Nelson, IUPUI, F, Jr.Jennie Sunnarborg, South Dakota State, F/C, Sr.Bethany Watterworth, Oakland, F/C, Jr.

SECOND TEAMJanae Burich, North Dakota State, C, Jr.Ashley Eide, South Dakota State, G, Jr.Stephanie Rosado, IPFW, F, Sr.Jill Young, South Dakota State, G, Sr.Sadie Webb, Western Illinois, G, Sr.

HONORABLE MENTIONAnne Boese, IPFW, G, Sr.Jodie Boss, South Dakota, C, Sr.Carli Moreland, Southern Utah, F, So.Eilise O'Connor, UMKC, G, So.Abby Plucker, North Dakota State, F, Sr.

ALL-NEWCOMERBernadett Balla, Oral Roberts, F, Fr.Katie Comello, IUPUI, G, So.Saule Kontautaite, Western Illinois, G, Jr.Hailey Mandelko, Southern Utah, G, Fr.Jamie Van Kirk, North Dakota State, G, Fr.

PLAYER OF THE YEARKevi Luper, Oral Roberts

NEWCOMER OF THE YEARSaule Kontautaite, Western Illinois



COACH OF THE YEARAaron Johnston, South Dakota State