Oklahoma's Newest Congressmen Sworn into Office

Markwayne Mullin (left) and Jim Bridenstine (right)

TULSA, Okla. (AP) - Oklahoma's two newest congressmen have been sworn into office.

Republicans Jim Bridenstine and Markwayne Mullin were sworn into office Thursday, along with the three other members of the state's congressional delegation - Tom Cole, James Lankford and Frank Lucas.

Bridenstine upset longtime incumbent John Sullivan in last year's Republican primary and went on to defeat his Democratic opponent in the November election.

Bridenstine is a Navy pilot who had tea party backing when he was campaigning for the 1st Congressional District, which covers northeastern Oklahoma and includes the cities of Tulsa and Bartlesville.

Mullin, who owns a plumbing business, won the open seat for the 2nd Congressional District that was vacated by Democrat Dan Boren, who decided to retire. That district stretches across 26 eastern Oklahoma counties.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.