OSU's Glenn Spencer Nominated For National Award

Oklahoma State defensive coordinator Glenn Spencer has been nominated for the 2013 Broyles Award, it was announced Wednesday by The Rotary Club of Little Rock.

The Broyles Award honors the top assistant college football coach in the country and was established in 1996 to honor legendary Arkansas coach Frank Broyles, who was known for producing some of the most successful assistant coaches in college football history.

Spencer, in his first-year as Oklahoma State defensive coordinator, has led perhaps the most impressive defensive turnaround in the nation this season. The Cowboys rank in the top 25 nationally in scoring defense (11th), turnovers gained (fifth), passes intercepted (third), red zone defense (fifth), pass efficiency defense (ninth), tackles for loss (10th), third-down conversion percentage defense (17th), fumbles recovered (16th) and rushing defense (24th) just one year after ranking in the top 25 nationally in only one of those categories (tackles for loss - 25th in 2012).

Early in the season, the team had to rely heavily on its defense to win games and Spencer's unit delivered, limiting two of OSU's first three opponents without a touchdown. Spencer's scheme against Baylor helped the Cowboys force three turnovers and limit the top-ranked offense in the nation to 44 points and 231 yards below its season averages as part of OSU's win over the No. 3 Bears.

The 2013 Broyles Award winner will be announced Dec. 10 at 11:30 a.m. at the Marriott Hotel in Little Rock, Ark. The award is presented by The Rotary Club of Little Rock and is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football.

For more information, visit

Nominees for the 2013 Broyles Award

Alabama - Doug Nussmeier, Offensive Coordinator

Arizona - Jeff Casteel, Defensive Coordinator

Arizona State - Mike Norvell, Offensive Coordinator

Arkansas State - Kent Riddle, Assistant Head Coach, TE's/Special Teams

Auburn - Rhett Lashlee, Offensive Coordinator

Ball State - Rich Skrosky, Offensive Coordinator

Baylor - Philip Montgomery, Offensive Coordinator

Boston College - Don Brown, Defensive Coordinator

Brigham Young - Nick Howell, Defensive Coordinator

Central Florida - Brent Key, Assistant Head Coach/Offensive Line

Colorado State - Dave Baldwin, Offensive Coordinator

Clemson - Chad Morris, Offensive Coordinator

Duke - Kurt Roper, Offensive Coordinator

Florida State - Jeremy Pruitt, Defensive Coordinator

Fresno State - Dave Schramm, Offensive Coordinator

Georgia Tech - Ted Roof, Defensive Coordinator

Houston - David Gibbs, Defensive Coordinator

Indiana - Seth Littrell, Offensive Coordinator

Iowa - Phil Parker, Defensive Coordinator

Louisville - Vance Bedford, Defensive Coordinator

LSU - Cam Cameron, Offensive Coordinator

Michigan State - Pat Narduzzi, Defensive Coordinator

Minnesota - Tracy Claeys, Defensive Coordinator

Missouri - Josh Henson, Offensive Coordinator

Nebraska - Tim Beck, Offensive Coordinator

Ohio State - Tom Herman, Offensive Coordinator

Oklahoma State - Glenn Spencer, Defensive Coordinator

Ole Miss - Dan Werner, Co-Offensive Coordinator

Rice - Chris Thurmond, Defensive Coordinator

San Jose State - Jimmie Dougherty, Offensive Coordinator

South Carolina - Lorenzo Ward, Defensive Coordinator

South Florida - Stu Holt, Special Teams Coordinator

Stanford - Derek Mason, Defensive Coordinator

Texas State - Mike Schultz, Offensive Coordinator

UCLA - Jeff Ulbrich, Assistant Head Coach/LB's/Special Teams

Utah - Ilaisa Tuiaki, Defensive Line

Utah State - Todd Orlando, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties

Virginia Tech - Torrian Gray, Defensive Secondary Coach/Pass Game Coordinator

Western Michigan - Charles Huff, RB Coach

Wisconsin - Dave Aranda, Defensive Coordinator/LB's