OSU's Rudolph & Washington named to Maxwell Award Watch List


Oklahoma State standouts Mason Rudolph and James Washington are part of 85 players from across the country who were named to the watch list for the 2017 Maxwell Award, the Maxwell Football Club announced Monday morning.

The Maxwell Award is in its 81st year and has honored America's College Player of the Year since 1937. OSU is one of just 17 schools in the country represented by multiple players on the list, including four from the Big 12 Conference.

Heading into his senior season, Mason Rudolph has played at a level that matches some of Oklahoma State’s all-time best quarterbacks. He’s been tabbed as the No. 1 senior quarterback in the country by Mel Kiper and as the No. 19 player in college football heading into the 2017 season by Athlon Sports.

Rudolph has quarterbacked OSU to a 22-6 record as a starter and has led the Cowboys to eight victories in games in which they trailed during the second half. He led all FBS quarterbacks returning in 2017 in both interception avoidance and touchdown-to-interception ratio in 2016, and he is already the owner of no fewer than 11 school records.

He is in position to set OSU career records for pass attempts, pass completions, passing yards, and passing touchdowns in the 2017 season and has a chance to finish his career as the most efficient passer in Oklahoma State history.

Washington, also a senior this season, is Rudolph’s top target at wide receiver. He’s also ranked by Mel Kiper as the No. 1 senior receiver in the country and is listed as the best returning receiver in college football heading into 2017 by’s Adam Rittenberg and by Athlon Sports.

His 26 career receiving touchdowns mark the highest total among all active FBS players heading into 2017, and he leads all active receivers from Power Five conferences with 2,923 career receiving yards and 19.2 career yards per reception.

Washington is one of only three Cowboys ever with 10 or more receiving touchdowns in multiple seasons, joining Justin Blackmon and Rashaun Woods; and he is one of five Oklahoma State players in history with multiple 1,000-yard seasons, joining Justin Blackmon, Rashaun Woods, Hart Lee Dykes and Adarius Bowman.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced Oct. 30, 2017, while the three finalists for the award will be unveiled Nov. 20, 2017. The winner of the 2017 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 7, 2017. The formal presentations of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala on March 9, 2018.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off