OSU's Dunn wins Wire Receivers Coach of the Year


Oklahoma State wide receivers coach Kasey Dunn picked up a pair of national honors Tuesday, as he was named the Wide Receivers Coach of the Year by both 247Sports and FootballScoop.

Under Dunn’s guidance, the Cowboy receivers made up one of the best groups in college football in 2017. Led by Biletnikoff winner James Washington and Marcell Ateman, the Cowboys finished the regular season with two 1,000-yard receivers and four 500-yard receivers. Dunn’s coaching helped OSU become the first team in Big 12 Conference history have a 4,000-yard passer (Mason Rudolph), two 1,000-yard receivers (Ateman and Washington) and a 1,000-yard rusher (Justice Hill) in the same season. That feat has only been achieved nine other times in FBS history and only twice has it been done at the Power Five level.

Additionally, Washington leads the nation with 1,423 receiving yards and Washington’s and Ateman’s combined total of 2,472 yards this season is the most of any teammate duo in FBS.

The Cowboy receiving corps combined for a total of 19 100-yard performances this season to set a new school record. Of OSU’s 12 regular season games, nine featured at least one 100-yard receiver, and Washington had at least 100 yards and a touchdown in seven of them. Ateman also finished with six 100-yard games and three multi-touchdown games.

In addition to those two, Jalen McCleskey caught 49 passes for 633 yards and five touchdowns, Dillon Stoner caught 40 passes for 541 yards and five touchdowns, Tyron Johnson caught 16 passes for 268 yards and three touchdowns, Chris Lacy caught 19 passes for 249 yards and Tylan Wallace caught seven passes for 118 yards.

The Cowboys lead the nation with 392.3 passing yards per game, 178 completions of 10-plus yards, 42 completions of 30-plus yards and 10 completions of 60-plus yards.

Dunn been at OSU since 2011 and he’s coached at least one 1,000-yard receiver in five of his seven seasons in Stillwater.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off