OSU's Rudolph, Washington named Maxwell Award Semifinalists


Oklahoma State quarterback Mason Rudolph and wide receiver James Washington were included among 18 national semifinalists for the 81st Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year, Maxwell Football Club President Mark Dianno announced Monday.

Oklahoma State is the only school in the country with two players on the list, selected by the Maxwell Football Club National Selection Committee.

Already OSU's all-time leading passer and winningest quarterback in school history, Rudolph ranks No. 1 in FBS in passing yards and passing yards per game this season. He’s among the national leaders in every major passing statistic for the season and among the active career leaders as well. He owns no fewer than 32 school records and has a strong possibility to finish his career as the most efficient passer in school history.

Washington’s 34 career receiving touchdowns are the highest total among all active FBS players - and are five in front of second place. He also leads all active players with 3,928 career receiving yards - more than 650 yards in front of the next best - and leads all Power Five players with 19.9 yards per catch in his career (minimum 100 career receptions). A midseason All-American by several publications including the Associated Press, Washington is the consensus pick as the nation's top receiver and he's the favorite to win the Biletnikoff Award.

The next round of voting for the Maxwell Award begins on Tuesday, Oct. 31 and will close on Nov. 19. Three finalists will be announced on Nov. 20 and a second round of voting will take place at that time. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA head football coaches, sports information directors and selected national media.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off